At last! As expected The Matador is the 8th winner of the World Cup. Honestly, I didn’t watch the match last night but from the match statistics, I don’t think it’s a great match to watch isn’t it? 14 yellow cards, 1 red card and Iniesta’s goal in the extra-time to win the game manifest that. Iniesta need an incisive through ball from substitute Fabregas to score the precious goal.

As the awards had been handed out, let’s see who won what:

Golden Ball for best player: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)
FIFA drew up the shortlist of 10, and the accredited media  voted the Uruguayan striker as the best player of the tournament. No arguments here.
Silver Ball: Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands)
Bronze Ball: David Villa (Spain)

Golden Boot for top scorer: Thomas Mueller (Germany)
There was actually a four way tie at the top of the goalscoring chart with Mueller, David Villa, Wesley Sneijder and Diego Forlan all scoring five goals each. Tie-breaker was assists, which put Mueller on top with three.
Silver Shoe: David Villa (Spain)
Bronze Show: Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands)
Villa and Sneijder had one assist each, and so seems from the FIFA top scorer page that Villa finishes above Sneijder based on fewer minutes plated (635 to Sneijder’s 652). No top scorer boots for Forlan, as he played 654 minutes, but luckily he’s got that Golden Ball to console him.

Best Young Player: Thomas Mueller (Germany)
Quite a successful awards haul for Mueller. After being named to a shortlist of three along with Mexico’s Gio dos Santos and Ghana’s Andre Ayew, teh 20 year old Mueller was named as Best Young Player by FIFA’s Technical Study Group. I’m assuming that Mueller being tournament top scorer made this an easy choice.

Golden Glove for best goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Spain)
Despite conceding to Switzerland in Spain’s opening game (which they lost 1-0), Casillas has been cool as a glacier at World Cup 2010. I imagine competition for this award was tight, with guys like Portugal’s Eduardo, Uruguay’s Fernando Muslera and even Netherlands’ Maarten Stekelenburg all impressing. But just two goals conceded in seven games plus captaining a World Cup winning team (and making important saves in the final) makes Casillas more than worthy.

FIFA Fair Play Award: Spain
I forgot they even did this. But apparently Spain’s eight yellow cards in seven games (five(!) of which came in the final) means the team averaged just 1.14 yellows per game, and zero reds.

For more comments, go to World Cup 2010 Blog.

See you again in Brazil for the next world cup!